Skip to content

Everything’s Coming Up Twins!

July 4, 2010

Summers in Erie, PA meant long weekends on the boat.  Whether it was my father’s red and white stink boat (with motors) or the sail boat friends of ours had, we were on it.  While the parents readied the vessels for the journey, the kids had the run of the docks.  We’d join up with the other dock rats and run around looking for dead fish that had washed ashore and a good stick with which to poke its eyes. (We were curious and they were already dead, ok?  Don’t judge me!)

The docks themselves were rickety at best and required skilled balance and sure footing to cross them, especially in certain places.  The docks where we keep our boat today barely move, even when say 6 or 7 people traipse across them while carrying a cooler full of food and beverages for the day.

Ah, the memories I have of growing up around boats!  These days I’m picturing watching our kids run around the docks and climbing the mast.

Sara and her lovely family are visiting this weekend and I’m delighted to say that it has been fantastic to get to spend so much time with them.  Her beautiful little boy looks like the Gerber baby when he turns 3.  Her ethereal little girl dances about like a graceful little ballerina with the biggest brown eyes I’ve ever seen.   When we realized our freezer hadn’t been closing properly and that we were out of ice, Sara and I headed off in our little convertible to nab some more.  It was really fun zipping around town with her.  I only wish we lived closer to each other so we could spend more time together.  Now that all the big milestone ultrasounds are done, I’m afraid this is one of the last times I’ll see her.

We’ve planned a baby shower for late August or early September, depending on family travel schedules, and I’ll get to see her then (she’ll be around 28 weeks already by then! – so hard to believe how fast the time is passing).  And I’ll head to her place when she’s around 33 or 34 weeks and see if we can do one of those 3-D ultrasounds.  Otherwise, I think we’ll only see her at the delivery…

Now that all we’re reasonably assured that the babies are healthy, I am itching to go buy some baby things.  Until now, I haven’t wanted to jinx anything so all I’ve gotten so far are 2 bibs from our trip to Disney in April – from the Dr. Seuss collection – that say Thing 1 and Thing 2.  Seriously.  I don’t have a single other baby item in the house.

And I’m ready to shop.

But I need some advice.  What stroller is best for twins? After watching miserable parents of either twins or siblings trying to navigate double wide strollers through the crowds and aisles at Disney, I quickly decided I wanted a front to back with stadium seating stroller.  Then friends and family told me that either the Bob or McLaren joggers are the best.  A lady with newborn twins (as of June 1!) said friends told her with the front and back style stroller the front twin is always turning around to see the other one so they’re not the best choice.

I need advice on everything, ducks – from bouncy seats to onesies, cribs to those playpen, sleeper, changing area all in one things.  What are your favorites?

Back soon, Smumzie!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I have no twin advice obviously, and it’s been a really long time since I’ve had an tiny infant at home, too.

    Things have changed so much since Mack was a baby, we had a bouncy seat, but that’s all it was. They are so fancy now. Our little grandson came over to stay the night not too long ago, and brought his bouncy seat with him, it has a vibrating option that lull little fussy ones to sleep. We also bought our oldest daughter a portable swing, which is about the size of a bouncey seat, but a swing. Really handy for traveling, or visits to other people’s houses, or for quick moving around the house, just so small and not bulky like the big ones.

    The pack-n-play, I think is going to come down to your personal preference. The biggest differences in them is the features and colors. With twins you may be able to use just one at first, but later you may need a second one. These are great for travel. We used Mea’s all over the place in many hotels. It’s still being used by baby grandkids, and when little cousins come to town.

    Mea had the Dr. Seuss pacifiers, that said Thing 1, and Thing 2. Mack got them for her on a trip to Florida with school. She said they were for her Gemini twinness, and split personalities…:)

    Clothes shopping is the best. I don’t think you should need any help, you need a million onesies since they are basically baby t-shirts and they are going to be little in winter, but oh, the clothes! Mea always has way too many, because I just can’t stop myself.

  2. I don’t have twins, but I do have two kids and I disagree with you about the front/back double strollers. I think a Maclaren or Combi side by side is probably your best bet. I have a Combi double, but I’m not sure it’s suitable for infants, and I’ve gotten a lot of use out of the Maclaren single strollers as well.

    The thing about the front/back strollers is that they’re heavier. Both the Maclaren and Combi side by sides are relatively lightweight and they fit through standard size doorways.

    Check out Phil & Ted if you’re committed to front/back.

    The Magic Beans store site (www.mbeans.com, I think) has a very helpful stroller finder, as I recall.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

