Skip to content

Things Wrong Including Half of Glass

May 14, 2010

I’d like to say it’s a rare thing for the Smumzie to have to admit she’s wrong, but alas, it is not.  But this time I’m glad to say it – I was wrong.

Not only was my father not condescending when I told him about the news of the twins, he was actually a teensie bit excited.  He even called me later to say that my Papa was at home waiting for my call before he went out to supper.

My step-mother was not home at the time but I got a call the next day from her.  I was in a noisy place at the time and she has that throat virus that’s going around causing her voice to be very rough, but I think she was also supportive.   I would be lying if I said I wasn’t very much interested to hear what she had to say when she first heard the news though.  She’s a tough cookie.

My sister, I am delighted to say, did not get singsongy at all.  I suspect my nephew told her before I did despite being a million miles away and supposedly fighting a war.  He never could keep a secret.  But her reaction was such a non-reaction that I think she must have known.

On another front, I would also like to report that Skiddle’s mom seems to have caught the reasonable virus that’s going around because when Skiddle expressed an interest in attending the big first trimester scan this coming Monday, her mother agreed to allow us to take her even though it means she’ll miss a day of school.

Skiddle, for now, is claiming a very vague interest in the scan.  I’m not sure if she really is interested and doing the teenage Oh, this is so lame I can’t be bothered with it thing or she’s trying to protect herself.  She’s expressed a concern in the past that her relationship with these kids will be similar to mine with my half-sister and –brother. (I left home within 2 years of them being born and didn’t go back for 7 years.  I was there 1 day, had a huge blow out fight with my father and left again for 15 years.)  Either way Skiddle is happy to miss a day of school for it.

In the meantime I feel lighthearted and optimistic about things – and I’m not usually a “glass half-full” kinda chick.  I’m always waiting for the other shoe to drop.

However, I think there comes a time when we all realize that being happy is not about getting what you want… it’s about being happy with what you have.

I’m not going to sit here and try to convince anyone that I’ve been a miserable little bee barely managing to buzz my corpulent body over to the next flower on delicate wings.  My life has been pretty amazing for the last 10 years.

I can’t deny that I had some challenges growing up and occasionally shadows from that past still rear their ugly heads and I end up in a shitstorm.  In fact, BH has a saying based on a Daily Show segment by Stephen Colbert after Hurricane Katrina hit where he ridicules some Christian fundie for saying that God hath wrought justice upon New Orleans because they were planning a Gay Pride parade down Bourbon Street.  In fact, the French Quarter didn’t flood, unlike the Ninth Ward, Saint Jefferson Parish and Saint Bernard Parish.  “If anything,” noted Colbert, “the lesson of Katrina is: God loves gays, but hates the gay-adjacent.”

Whenever I start winding myself up like a tornado forming over barren farmlands of the mid-west, things start to go wrong.   Electronic devices like cash registers, cell phones and hospital heart monitors either stop working or start behaving erratically. (I’m not even joking here – I was in the ICU step-down unit for 5 days last February and the alarms on all the heart monitors they hooked me up to literally went off every few minutes until the nurses finally shut them off completely.)

In fact, things can start to spiral so out of control that everyone around me seems to get caught up in the turmoil of stuff going haywire that BH started calling it being Smumzie-adjacent. How else could we possibly explain why it took 20 IVF cycles to finally get pregnant despite using 22 year old eggs, multiple surrogates and sperm that supposedly should be sold on the black market?

These days, however, things seem to be going my way suddenly.  I’m not sure if I should abandon my theory that lottery tickets are merely a tax on the mathematically challenged and buy a few or abandon all caution and call that Disney producer and ask him if he’s still interested in the screenplay for Jackie Smart despite the fact that I’ve never written a screenplay in my life.

In any case, I was wrong indeed and I couldn’t be happier about it.

3 Comments
  1. I like it when I’m wrong like that, too. It’s pretty nice.

    I think it’s really exciting that Skiddle is going to the scan with you guys. I think between your Mother’s Day card, and her interest in going, she is really warming up. It’s getting real to her, she’s going to be a big sister!

  2. How did the scan go?

  3. Alexicographer permalink

    Worrying about you, hope all is OK.

Leave a Reply

