Skip to content

As if I need another reason to love my Skiddle

May 10, 2010

We just returned from wine country and I have many fun things to discuss tomorrow but for now (!) I just had to tell everyone that, as … ‘meh’ as Skiddle has seemed to be since the announcement of the impending Twinvasion 2010, I think she’s going to be the best big sister ever when the time comes.

Soon after arriving home, BH sorted the mail and after a quick call from Skiddle, approached me with a sly grin and handed me an envelope.  The outside had my address printed formally on it, obviously done by a printer and Skiddle’s (mother’s) address as the return.  I opened it up to find a lavender card with a yellow plaid bib and the words For the Mommy-to-be on the front.

Inside she’d printed:

I know you have a lot of special qualities that will make you a wonderful mother…I know because they’re the same special qualities that make you such a wonderful step mother.

I love you so much Smumzie and I know for sure that you will make your children happy as a mother.  Thank you for always being there for me.  Love, Skiddle

I’m smiling through the tears and wish so much that I could just hug her right now and spend the rest of the night snuggled up downstairs watching movies and chitchatting about her life since I’ve been away.  I miss her.

And, though I’ve always known it, today I’m reminded of just how lucky I am to have her for my very own.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Alexicographer permalink

    What a delight.

  2. What a nice card! Skiddle is going to be a super great big sister!

Leave a Reply

