Skip to content

Blue Around the Gills

April 22, 2010

First, I wanted to thank everyone who replied about the prenatal testing question.  It’s coming up faster than I had planned.  I thought they were all done around 19 weeks but they’ve already set the TN test for 5/11.  The end of the first trimester is 5/14 and, as I’m sure you can imagine, I’ve been holding my breath until that date arrives, which explains a lot more than just the blue tinge around my gills.

Friends who’ve been along for the ride through every other try, pregnancy and miscarriage are always hesitant to bring up the subject around me for fear of prying in case something has gone wrong.  I had dinner with one of those friends last night, who had asked if she could use our SUV to pick up a fire pit.  During the day however, she sent one of those surveys – a chain mail of sorts.  Normally I don’t respond to these things but I figured out years ago that if I have some fun and run with it, it’s a win:win.  The friend gets a chuckle (and hopefully the 20 friends I was required to send it to did as well), I do not become the “lame” one who “breaks the chain” and I also avoid the resulting dire consequences predicted in the letter.  Huzzah!

Here is the latest survey with my answers.  I promise I will figure out how to use the survey gadget I got for the site because I really want to get to know you guys better.  The dashboard says that around 37 people per day visit the site and, well, shucks, I’m flatterd…but I’d really like to know more about you all.  So to reduce the risk of being inexplicably flattened by an oil truck as I walk my dogs on the beach or poisoned like that one girl’s aunt’s neighbor’s brother-in-law’s third cousin twice removed, here is the survey.   [Disclaimer: Survey content is read and dismissed solely at the risk of the reader.  The Smumzie is not responsible for rogue oil trucks who flatten people who break the chain.  Naa-na-na-na-naa-Na.]

1. Your occupation right now? Bon vivant.
2. What color are your socks right now? Not wearing any.  You can’t make me.
3. What CD is playing in your car? CDs? Ipod all the way, baby!  The people in the lanes next to me really dig my music beteedubs.
4. What was the last thing that you ate? Rolaids (damn Indian food!)
5. Can you drive a stick shift? Sticky shift? Hey, what kind of survey is this anyway?
6. Last person you spoke to on the phone? Neo.
7. Do you like the person who sent this to you? Yes but she doesn’t know it yet.  Don’t spill the beans.  We have a date tonight.  Taking her to BJ’s.  Maybe sit by a firepit later and chillax together over a glass of wine.
8. How old are you today? Old enough to know better but too young to resist.
9. What is your favorite sport to watch on TV? I would rather fall face first into my own vomit before watching sports on TV
10. What is your favourite drink? Cheap gin & tonic with extra lime in a 6″ tall glass and precisely 7 ice cubes.  And an umbrella or stir straw. And some good conversation.  Some nice music, maybe – but not too loud… maybe some fresh salsa and chips.  Hey wait a minute!     *squinty eyes* Is this my intervention?!?   (shamelessly stolen from Steam Me Up Kid – see link. Warning: do not consume any liquids while reading her site.  It WILL be snarfed out your nose sooner or later.)
11. Have you ever dyed your hair? Holla!
12. Favorite foods? See food (yeah, you get it)
13. What is the last movie you watched? Date Night (“I’m going to go home and look at my vagina with a hand mirror now.”)
14. Favorite day(s) of the year? Smumziedays, of course
15. How do you vent anger? Voodoo dolls and many, many pins.
16. What was your favorite toy as a child? My sister.  We were too poor to have toys (awaah, awaah)
17. What is your favorite season? Fall (not the kind brought on by #s 9 and10 though)
18. Cherries or Blueberries? Chizarries all da way, yo!
19. Do you want your friends to e-mail you back? Sure. Family, too you bastards.
20. Who is the most likely to respond? Peggilicious
21. Who is most likely not to respond? Sped (my better half)
22. Living arrangements? Definitely living.  Most days. After coffee.
23. When was the last time you cried? When I gave up my dream of becoming arm candy to a rapper. So…February?
24. What is on the floor of your closet? There’s a floor in there?
25. Who is the friend you have had the longest that you are sending this to? The other Peggy (girl, 35 years?! GAK!)
26. What did you do last night? Force-fed fish and veggies to my Skiddle. Brat. Watched 24 (Go Chloe!)
27. What are you most afraid of? Emailed surveys and chain letters
28. Plain, Cheese or Spicy Hamburgers? Spicy Hamburger?  We call that meatloaf where I’m from.
29.
Favorite dog breed? Yappetizers!
30.
Favorite day of the week? At the risk of repeating myself, I’m gonna have to go with Smumzieday.
From → General, Life Skills

3 Comments
  1. If anyone sends me these surveys, they know they are going to get a smart ass response back. If they know me well enough to email me a silly survey, they better know what kind of drink I’ll have, and what breed my dog is, etc….I think they like getting my answers back, why else would they keep sending them?

    • Exactly! So, erm, what is your favorite drink? And if it needs a recipe and you’re feeling skippy -send it to me as well. Here’s one that’s good for the summer. I got it from Julia at Hippogriffs: put 7 oz of gin or vodka into a blender with 1 cup of ice, 1 can of frozen limeade and a handful of mint leaves (remove stems as I’ve discovered). Blend, enjoy. Yummy stuff!

  2. Yum, sounds like a yummier version of a Mojito. I’ll have to try that one. When we are entertaining in the summer, I usually try to make a Sangria. I have a couple of different ones, that are my favorites. The best one is a White Sangria, all kinds of fruit in it, and uses a Pinot Grigo, super good. When it’s just the hubby and I, hanging out, I really like Peach Absolute, and Cranberry Juice, or Lemonade. Really good. Not complicated.

Leave a Reply

