Skip to content

Getting Busy

April 7, 2010

I went away without telling you that I was going. I abandoned you, left you hanging, in the lurch really, dumped and deserted you. Forsaken you for another. Or is it forsook?

In any case, muffins, I’m back. I never meant to shirk my duties, evade my responsibilities, dodge my chores or shun my obligations.  Sorry to leave you hanging with nary a word about being gone for so long but I simply ran out of time  to post before making the roughly 4.5 hour drive to see Sara.

What a delightful time we did have.  I’m dying to tell you about our frolicking, cavorting, gamboling even. I’m delighted to think that you are even intrigued by it all.  But, you know, a picture is worth a thousand words, isn’t it?

So here for the first time, making their network debut are….The Twinkles!

We are over the moon with excitement and, with the pressure off, BH and I have actually found some time to, ahem, enjoy each others’ company again … just for the sake of it.  You know what I mean –  getting busy, makin bacon, boffing yet. Thumping, hooking up, knocking boots, bumping uglies, playing doctor, churning butter, sliding, or my personal favorite, making copies.

Though honestly, this morning I wanted to smack him.   Knocking on the door of my girlie parts while they’re half asleep, hair still in curlers, not even had their morning coffee…well, let’s just say that it takes them a long time to wake up. You’d have better luck talking Guiliana Rancic to eat a sammich than you would getting the girls up and party-ready before noon.

Anyway, I’m glad to be back.  But I must keep myself busybusybusy so I don’t spend my days staring at the calendar.  Because it’s not like me at all to know that May 17th marks the end of the first trimester and if we can make it there, we can – well you know how the song goes.  And just beyond that is July 2nd, wherein we’ll have reached the 19th week and can do an amnio or CVS or transnuchal and that feels very…scary? to me.  So while I’m not going to say much more about this pregnancy (unless I feel like I’m about to burst) because I don’t want to jinx it, you know, cast a curse, the plague, throw the evil eye… I was kinda hoping you lot might have some advice on the testing that can/should be done.  What were your experiences, etc and I’m going to try and do a little survey gadget here.

Eh, crap. So I did this whole poll thing but I can’t get it to show up on the site anywhere.  So here it is:

Did you do Amnio, CVS or Transnuchal testing?

Which did you do?

Why did you do them?

Would you do them again?

Do you think we should do any and if so, which?  (Our egg donor is 22, surrogate is 27 BUT sperm is 50).

HELP!

3 Comments
  1. I don’t really have any advice, since it’s been a hundred years since I was pregnant, and I was a young girl so I barely remember any of it, BUT, holy cow! There are two of them! Super excited for you my dear Smumzie, super excited!

  2. My egg donor was 22 as well so I just did the Nuchal Translucency (SP?) because it was non invasive and the quad blood screen (also non invasive) at 12 weeks. Had a very throrough ultrasound at 19 weeks. Since everything looked great that is the route I would go again if I have the chance with the remaining frozen embies.

    So glad to hear all is going well!!

  3. Alicia permalink

    Hey there. I had my little girl 18 months ago (I was 27 and my husband was 36). I also did the quad screen and nuchal test, as they were both non-invasive, in the first trimester (around the 10-12 week mark, I think). I had a full ultrasound done at 20 weeks to check all of the parts and pieces to make sure all looked okay. I had nothing come back as concerning or even borderline, so we didn’t even have to consider having an amnio or CVS.

    I have worked in a cytotechnology lab though (where they send the amnio/cvs to be analyzed) so know quite a bit about them. Unless there is something concerning, I wouldn’t even think about having either. While the risk of miscarriage is only about 3% higher then normal everyday risk, it is still a risk. I do think that if we had abnormal results on something I would have opted for an amnio, as I would want to know the condition of the baby and be able to prepare myself as best as possible for how to care for the child – if there was an abnormality with the child. I wouldn’t consider CVS even if we had abnormal results on any of the blood work. It is a much higher risk procedure then an amnio and, from my understanding, a limited number doctors are actually qualified to perform them properly – however many more do perform them. It is an older technique that a lot of facilities are moving away from.

    So my 2 cents… I would opt for an amnio only if there are abnormal results or your doctor recommends a more extensive look at something.

    Congrats on twins! How exciting :o)

Leave a Reply

