Skip to content

The Pink Elephant

March 27, 2010

“If you’ve got something to say to me, I wish you’d just say it already.” I was more than a little irritated.  The silent treatment was really getting old.

I gave up after a moment and went to the kitchen to make a cup of tea.    Curling up on the sofa, I tried to finish reading the book I’d started last week.  The wind had died down but the rain still drizzled down the windows.

I tried again.  “Seriously, just tell me what’s going on.  Making me beg for answers is just cruel, don’t you think?”

*blink*

I went upstairs to the office and sat down at the computer.  I wrote letters to tenants reminding them to call the maintenance office for issues like broken doorbells or to report someone else parking in their spot instead of calling me.  I checked in with a few contractors, made a list of leases that were up for renewal in the next few months and paid some bills.

The bird chirped merrily downstairs for a few minutes whistling parts of the theme song from The Andy Griffith Show, then the house was silent once again.  I tidied up the bedroom and carried a load of laundry downstairs.

“Are you still not speaking to me?” I asked casually as I walked by.

*blink*

“That’s it?  You’re just going to blink at me all day?”

*blink*

“Nothing to say at all?”

*blink*

I made a sandwich and read CNN while I ate it.  I googled Life in Iraq for American Soldiers and tried to imagine how my nephew’s days were being spent, which only made me more anxious.  I tried writing a few more chapters of a short story I was working on for a competition submission but put it away after a few sentences.  The tension in my neck and back had become unbearable so I filled the tub and settled in.

I managed to finish the book after all but the ending was unsatisfactory. Each sentence was well crafted, the words flowed in a beautiful rhythm.  But there was no plot.  It was an exercise in documenting one woman’s twenty-year journey through serial monogamy and I wanted an ending.

I drained the tub and cleaned it out, dried my hair and put on some moisturizer.  A cacophony of noise erupted from downstairs and I ran down to shush the dogs.  Fed Ex had just delivered the DVD writing course I had ordered on crafting beautiful sentences.  The irony wasn’t lost on me.  I opened it and sat down at the dining room table with my laptop thinking this was an excellent way to spend a rainy afternoon.  I realized after rewinding one section twice that I wasn’t focusing on the session and gave up.

I considered making a fire but thought it would probably still be burning when I had to leave to get Skiddle from school.

I walked across the room, beyond ready to confront the pink elephant that had taken up residence in my house for the past two days.

“I need some answers,” I said.

*blink*

I reached out and then it happened.  The phone that had been so utterly silent all day rang.  I snatched it up with a terse, “Yes?”

“Hi, this is the clinic calling you with great news!  We have the results from Sara’s third blood test and the beta level is 3682.  Congratulations!  She’s pregnant!”

I tried to speak but the lump in my throat kept me from getting out anything more than, “Thank you.”

“The doctor would like Sara to get an ultrasound anytime after the 31st.  I’m going to call her now with instructions.”

I pushed the button to end the call and sat there in silence once again.  Finally I looked at the phone.

“It’s about time,” I said to it.

*blink*

“We really gotta work on your communication skills,” I said. “Let me show you how it’s done.”  I pressed the talk button and called my husband with the good news.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. So awesome! So does that number equal twins?

    • not sure yet. it seems to fit into a “standard” table of what is expected for either singleton or twins. we’re doing the ultrasound around 4/7 depending on the clinic’s schedule and we’ll find out then.

  2. my3girls permalink

    great news

Leave a Reply

