Skip to content

Hello, Other? This is Ego.

January 23, 2010

It’s our turn to purr.

Cindy McCain has come out in support of gay marriage.

How delicious is that?

We imagine her darling husband is apoplectic about it.  Unless he only pretends to be a hater so he can win the conservative vote.   Because contract is so different from marriage – which is, actually, wait for it … a contract.

The sheer arrogance that accompanies this train of thought boggles the mind.

“Hello, other?  This is ego.  Fine thanks.  You?  That’s good to hear.  Hey listen, I been thinking…see you’re different from me and it bothers me.  I don’t like your [insert one] sexuality, color, height, extra chromosome, weight, whatever.  It makes me uncomfortable.  Can you please just … get it fixed so I can feel better about things?  Because if you don’t, I’ll just go vote against letting you be, well, you (wrinkles nose in distaste).  Otherwise I’m gonna have to insist that you drink from that fountain over there cause this one’s only for people just. like. me. Thanks very much.”

While we commend her on her new-found bravery, we can’t help but wonder why it took so long for her to come out of the closet (so to speak) and wear her support with pride (Smumzie is full of double entendres today).

We will stop short of claiming that her silence on the subject heretofore might be considered by some as cowardly.  Instead, we’ll graciously take into account that she was perhaps embracing the role of acquiescent wife while pounding the campaign trail.

Though upon close inspection, we were quite embarrassed (for the McCains that is) to discover this (where he calls colleagues and opponents “shitheads” and “assholes”) and this, where Cindy claims that she wants is “a candidate [who is] true to his beliefs and honest.  [One who tells her] not what I want to hear but what the truth is.”

A difficult stance to take when one denies one’s own truth, Mrs. McCain.  Could it perhaps be the fact that your husband called you the C-word is now known the world over that has opened your eyes and allowed you to develop your own voice?  Or has some recent other development led to your fresh perspective?

Certainly it’s easy to get caught up in the romance of the “sanctity of marriage.”  And you can claim it’s because the law defines marriage as being between a man and a woman.

But Smumzie begs you to recall a time not too long ago when the law considered people of color and women as property. We as a species somehow managed to see the error of that categorization and fix it aeons ago.  To carelessly forget that little nugget when examining this issue is to somehow deny the cognitive ability to evolve.

We can’t help but agree with the keen Bill Maher when he says, “I don’t get that your air is poison and your job is gone and your son is scattered all over a desert you can’t find on a map, but what really matters is boys kissing.”*

Why is this topic still open for debate?  Either humans are all created equal or we are not.  And before you slide down the slippery slope of who, exactly, is not, bear in mind the objectivity required to be considered credible, objective and qualified yourself.

*[Rodale, 2005.  New Rules: Polite Musings from a Timid Observer, p.88].

From → Equality

2 Comments
  1. My first thought when I heard was that it was just another political strategy. She’s so stand-by-your-man, it’s hard to think it’s anything but.

    And that is the first political opinion I’ve ever typed on a blog.

    • Smumzie permalink

      Hello Becky! I’m just starting to blog and almost didn’t link to your site because I don’t want to appear needy. (And because my F$#@ing shop site is still not done yet…) But since I’m desperate for attention (obviously), I did. THANK YOU for being my first ever commenter. I’ve never thought of myself as political until I started a blog that was originally intended to be a snarky “how to” guide for step-mothers and realized I needed to broaden it to encompass all my experiences (IVF, Surrogacy, etc). It snowballed from there. I sincerely hope you’ll find a reason to come visit me again on occasion. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

